Issue: 0902
Date: July 22, 2009

Voter Registration Deadlines and Notices
2009 Elections Legislation

SSB 5270, a bill relating to voter registration, passed the legislature during the 2009
session. The bill sets the deadline for registering to vote no later than 29 days before an
election.

The only exception is for a person not already registered in Washington State. A
qualified elector may register in person at the County Auditor’s Office in his or her
county of residence no later than 8 days before an election.

New procedures taking effect on July 26, 20009:

Accepted no later than 29 days before an election — by mail, in person or online
o All transfers within a county (updates and address changes)
e All transfers from another county (new registrants to your county)
e New registrants to the state of Washington

A registered voter who fails to transfer his or her residential address by this deadline may
vote according to his or her previous registration address.

Accepted no later than 8 days before an election — in person only
e Registrants not currently registered in the state of Washington
e Voter will be issued a mail ballot

Prior to each primary or general election, the County Auditor must publish a Notice of
Registration Deadlines in one newspaper of general circulation at least 35 days before the
election. This replaces the Notice of Closing. A notice is no longer required for special
elections.

The statutes affected are RCW 29A.08.140 and 29A.08.145. This information replaces
Clearinghouse 0603. Archived Clearinghouses are located on our website at
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/elections/auditorsCTP/clearinghouse.aspx . If you have any
additional questions, please contact Miriam Campbell at (360) 902-4165.
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